20231130 214425 00001

Uganda Qualify for Men’s ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Uganda has secured its place in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, the nation’s first-ever appearance in an ICC World Cup event. This happened in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Region Qualifier held in Windhoek, Namibia, where Uganda’s Cricket players showcased performance, sealing their spot alongside Namibia for the tournament.

Uganda Qualify for Men's ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Also Read: Novak Djokovic Accused a Section of British Fans of Disrespect

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe, despite their efforts, faced disappointment as they failed to qualify, missing out on the opportunity to participate in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

Uganda with the team securing five wins out of six games in the Africa Region Qualifier. The campaign kicked off with a convincing eight-wicket victory over Tanzania, setting the tone for what would become a historic run.

Where all-rounder David Wiese’s exceptional performance led to a six-wicket loss, Uganda bounced back spectacularly. The turning point came in the match against Zimbabwe, where Uganda won by five wickets.

The bowling of Dinesh Nakrani, who claimed figures of 3/14, restricted Zimbabwe to 136/7, paving the way for Uganda’s historic win.

The performances by Alpesh Ramjani and Riazat Ali Shah in the chase further solidified Uganda’s position in the tournament. The team’s fourth victory came against Nigeria, where they secured a nine-wicket win, followed by a 33-run win over Kenya.

The final match against Rwanda saw Uganda sealing their spot in the T20 World Cup with a nine-wicket victory, bowling out Rwanda for just 65 runs.

The qualification was celebrated with jubilationby the entire cricketing community. A viral video captured the scenes as the Cricket players danced and posed for pictures, showcasing the joy and pride that accompanied this moment.

Also Read: ICC Bans Transgender Players from Women’s Cricket

Zimbabwe, a cricketing nation with a history, faced disappointment as they were knocked out of contention for a spot in the T20 World Cup.

Despite captain Sikandar Raza’s innings of 48*, Zimbabwe couldn’t secure the wins needed for qualification. The loss to Uganda and the elimination setback for Zimbabwe’s cricketing aspirations in 2023.

Namibia, securing their place as the first team from the Africa Region Qualifier to qualify for the 2024 T20 World Cup. Their 58-run victory over Tanzania earlier in the week solidified their spot in the tournament, joining Uganda as representatives from the African continent.

The T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to take place in the United States and the West Indies from June 4 to June 30, promises a competitive field with 20 teams.

This reflects the growing global interest and participation in T20 cricket. The qualified teams include cricketing powerhouses like India, Australia, England, and the West Indies.

Captain Brian Msaba said the surreal nature of the achievement, expressing the team’s emotions the years of hard work that led to this moment. This success not only elevates Ugandan cricket but also serves as an inspiration for other African nations.

Also Read: Sri Lanka Cricket Suspended by ICC Over Governance Breach

As the country celebrates its historic qualification, Zimbabwe reflects on a missed opportunity and the challenges faced in the qualifying campaign.

This setback comes after Zimbabwe’s absence in the 2021 T20 World Cup due to ICC suspension, indicating a period for the cricketing nation.

The team’s coach, Dave Houghton, labeled their performance against Namibia as embarrassingly bad, indicating areas for improvement and development in Zimbabwean cricket.

The T20 World Cup format, expanded to 20 teams. The initial group stage, followed by the Super 8s, semi-finals, and the final, promises a tournament filled with thrilling moments and upsets.

Teams to qualify for 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup:

  • USA (qualified as hosts)
  • West Indies (qualified as hosts)
  • India (qualified on performance in last T20 World Cup)
  • Australia (qualified on performance in last T20 World Cup)
  • England (qualified on performance in last T20 World Cup)
  • New Zealand (qualified on performance in last T20 World Cup)
  • South Africa (qualified on performance in last T20 World Cup)
  • Pakistan (qualified on performance in last T20 World Cup)
  • Sri Lanka (qualified on performance in last T20 World Cup)
  • Afghanistan (qualified via T20I rankings)
  • Bangladesh (qualified via T20I rankings)
  • Netherlands (qualified on performance in last T20 World Cup)
  • Ireland (came through Europe Qualifier)
  • Scotland (came through Europe Qualifier)
  • Papua New Guinea (came through East Asia-Pacific Qualifier)
  • Canada (came through Americas Qualifier)
  • Nepal (came through Asia Qualifier)
  • Oman (came through Asia Qualifier)
  • Namibia (came through Africa Qualifier)
  • Uganda (came through Africa Qualifier).

Also Read: Hong Kong Hosts Asia’s First Gay Games Despite Opposition

Top Sources Related to Uganda Qualify for Men’s ICC T20 World Cup 2024 (For R&D)

AL Jazeera:




BBC News:



More From Author