News 24-7 Live

Tirupati Lok Sabha By-election: BJP Fields Former IAS Officer K Ratna Prabha in a ‘Promising’ Contest

Representational Image

Representational Image

The BJP has fielded K Ratna Prabha, a former IAS officer, from Tirupati Lok Sabha constituency in Andhra Pradesh. Tirupati MP Balli Durga Prasad Rao had died last year due to coronavirus after which the seat fell vacant.

The list released by the BJP also has names of its nine candidates for as many assembly bypolls spread across six states. Elections to these seats will be held on April 17 and results will be declared on May 2.

Meanwhile, the ruling YSR Congress had named Dr M Gurumurthy as its candidate for the by-election. Gurumurthy is a physiotherapist, who accompanied YSRC chief Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy in his 3600-km-long padayatra (foot march) in 2017-19 and tended to the latter.

Fielding him as the party candidate is seen as a reward for 36-year-old Gurumurthy”s services. He hails from Yerpedu mandal under Srikalahasti Assembly constituency that forms part of Tirupati Lok Sabha segment.

News Source : news 18

Exit mobile version