Tirath Singh Rawat to be Uttarakhand CM. All you need to know about him

Tirath Singh Rawat to be Uttarakhand CM. All you need to know about him

Tirath Singh Rawat, the Lok Sabha MP from Pauri in Uttarakhand, will be the next chief minister of the state. His name was finalised at a meeting of the top BJP leadership. He will take oath as the Uttarakhand chief minister on Wednesday evening.

Tirath Singh Rawat’s appointment as the Uttarakhand chief minister comes after Trivendra Singh Rawat resigned from the post on Tuesday evening following strong campaign against him within the party in the state. Here’s what you need to know about Tirath Singh Rawat:

Tirath Singh Rawat is currently the BJP national secretary and the Lok Sabha MP from Pauri. He defeated his nearest Congress rival Manish Khanduri by over 3 lakh votes in 2019.

Three months short of his 57th birthday, Tirath Singh Rawat becomes the ninth chief minister of Uttarakhand. He becomes the chief minister one year ahead of the next assembly election in Uttarakhand.

Tirath Singh Rawat began his political journey with the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morch in the then Uttar Pradesh, from which Uttarakhand was carved out as a separate state in 2000.

He was elected to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council in 1997, three years before the birth of Uttarakhand as a separate state.

When Uttarakhand became a separate state, Tirath Singh Rawat was made a minister in the Nityanand Swami government of the BJP. Tirath Singh Rawat served as the education minister in the first Uttarakhand government.

In 2012 Uttarakhand Assembly election, Tirath Singh Rawat was elected as an MLA from Chaubattakhal seat in the Garhwal district of the state.

After his election in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, Tirath Singh Rawat served as a member of the standing committee on transport, tourism and culture, and also as a member of two other parliamentary committees — joint committee on salaries and allowances, and a consultative committee of the skill development ministry.

In 2013, Tirath Singh Rawat was made the Uttarakhand BJP chief to strengthen the party organisation in the aftermath of the defeat in the assembly election a year ago. As Uttarakhand BJP chief, he won four mayor positions for the BJP out of six municipal corporations in the state.

Tirath Singh Rawat improved his reputation as a key organisational leader in the eyes of top BJP leadership with his management of the 2014 Lok Sabha election in Uttarakhand.

Then Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi was the BJP’s prime ministerial candidate in 2014. The BJP had failed to win a single seat in the 2009 Lok Sabha seat. Under Tirath Singh Rawat, the BJP won all five Lok Sabha seats from Uttarakhand in 2014 election.

News Source: India Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.